Thursday, September 12, 2013


Bhagavad Gita As It Is -
Chapter 5 Text 13
sarva-karmani manasa
sannyasyaste sukham vasi
nava-dvare pure dehi
naiva kurvan na karayan

sarva--all; karmani--activities; manasa--by the mind; sannyasya--giving up; aste--remains; sukham--in happiness; vasi--one who is controlled; nava-dvare--in the place where there are nine gates; pure--in the city; dehi--the embodied soul; na--never; eva--certainly; kurvan--doing anything; na--not; karayan--causing to be done.


When the embodied living being controls his nature and mentally renounces all actions, he resides happily in the city of nine gates [the material body], neither working nor causing work to be done.


From Srila Prabhupada's purport; The nine gates are mentioned as follows:

nava-dvare pure dehi
hamso lelayate bahih
vasi sarvasya lokasya
sthavarasya carasya ca

"The Supreme Personality of Godhead, who is living within the body of a living entity, is the controller of all living entities all over the universe. The body consists of nine gates [two eyes, two nostrils, two ears, one mouth, the anus and the genitals]. The living entity in his conditioned stage identifies himself with the body, but when he identifies himself with the Lord within himself, he becomes just as free as the Lord, even while in the body." (Svetasvatara Upanisad 3.18)

No comments:

Post a Comment