Monday, September 9, 2013


Bhagavad Gita As It Is -
Chapter 5 Text 8-9
naiva kincit karomiti
yukto manyeta tattva-vit
pasyan srnvan sprsanjighrann
asnan gacchan svapan svasan

pralapan visrjan grhnann
unmisan nimisann api
vartanta iti dharayan

na--never; eva--certainly; kincit--anything; karomi--I do; iti--thus; yuktah--engaged in the divine consciousness; manyeta--thinks; tattva-vit--one who knows the truth; pasyan--seeing; srn van--hearing; sprsan--touching; jighran--smelling; asnan--eating; gacchan--going; svapan--dreaming; svasan--breathing; pralapan--talking; visrjan--giving up; grhnan--accepting; unmisan--opening; nimisan--closing; api--in spite of; indriyani--the senses; indriya-arthesu--in sense gratification; vartante--let them be so engaged; iti--thus; dharayan--considering.


A person in the divine consciousness, although engaged in seeing, hearing, touching, smelling, eating, moving about, sleeping and breathing, always knows within himself that he actually does nothing at all. Because while speaking, evacuating, receiving, or opening or closing his eyes, he always knows that only the material senses are engaged with their objects and that he is aloof from them.


Srila Prabhupada begins his purport by expanding a little on the above slokas; A person in Krsna consciousness is pure in his existence, and consequently he has nothing to do with any work which depends upon five immediate and remote causes: the doer, the work, the situation, the endeavor and fortune. This is because he is engaged in the loving transcendental service of Krsna. Although he appears to be acting with his body and senses, he is always conscious of his actual position, which is spiritual engagement.

No comments:

Post a Comment