Tuesday, November 19, 2013


Bhagavad Gita As It Is -
Chapter 4 Text 21
nirasir yata-cittatma
sariram kevalam karma
kurvan napnoti kilbisam

nirasih--without desire for the result; yata--controlled; citta-atma--mind and intelligence; tyakta--giving up; sarva--all; parigrahah--sense of proprietorship over possessions; sariram--in keeping body and soul together; kevalam--only; karma--work; kurvan--doing; na--never; apnoti--does acquire; kilbisam--sinful reactions.


Such a man of understanding acts with mind and intelligence perfectly controlled, gives up all sense of proprietorship over his possessions, and acts only for the bare necessities of life. Thus working, he is not affected by sinful reactions.


Srila Prabhupada writes in his purport; (A Krsna conscious person) knows that because he is part and parcel of the Supreme, the part played by him, as a part and parcel of the whole, is not his own activity but is only being done through him by the Supreme. When the hand moves, it does not move out of its own accord, but by the endeavor of the whole body. A Krsna conscious person is always dovetailed with the supreme desire, for he has no desire for personal sense gratification.

No comments:

Post a Comment