Monday, July 30, 2012


Bhagavad Gita As It Is -
Chapter 3 Text 6

karmendriyani samyamya
ya aste manasa smaran
indriyarthan vimudhatma
mithyacarah sa ucyate

karma-indriyani--the five working sense organs; samyamya--controlling; yah--anyone who; aste--remains; manasa--by the mind; smaran--thinking of; indriya-arthan--sense objects; vimudha--foolish; atma--soul; mithya-acarah--pretender; sah--he; ucyate--is called.


One who restrains the senses of action but whose mind dwells on sense objects certainly deludes himself and is called a pretender.


Enlightenment's supposed to come with the prayer, not before it. -J.D. Salinger - "Franny and Zooey".

Fake it 'till you make it. -An AA saying.

One achieves bhakti by hearing and chanting about the Supreme Lord's special qualities, even while engaged in the ordinary activities of life in this world. -Nārada Bhakti Sūtra 37.

This sloka seems to be a warning to us who have begun our walk with the Lord. I am not a big fan of the AA saying but, if it keeps one "coming back", then it is good.

Let us not use God's mercy as an excuse for our behaviors!

No comments:

Post a Comment